Human Body Bones Names
10 Jan

Human Body Bones Names and their Functions

A normal adult human being has a total of 206 bones and each bone performs its won specific functions in the body. The bones are divided into different categories depending on the role that they play and the body.

Human bones are classified into five different categories: flat, long, irregular, short and  sesamoid. Each category of bone has its own unique features that enable it to work properly and before analysing names and categories of bones, let’s have a sneek peek into the general functions of human bones.

1. Provide support

Human bone network which can be also refered to as skeletal system play a big role in supporting  different parts of the body. Bones provide point of attachment for the skeletal muscles. Soft body tissues are supported in their places by the bones. You are able to stand and sit upright thanks to the bones.

2. Providing protection

Delicate internal body parts such as lungs, heart,kidney and liver need to be protected against mechanical injuries that can be caused by accidents.

3.Produce red blood cells

Red bone marrow plays a crucial role of producing red blood cells which play crucial role in the body.

4.  Body movement

Bones support muscles associated with body movements such as skeletal muscles. As the muscles contaract and relax, they directly affect the way bones move which in turn affects overall body movement.

7. Stores minerals

Important body minerals such as calcium and are stored in the bones. They are later released to the body to offer nutritional value.

Names and Categories of Bones

There are five key classifications of bones and it will be prudent that we highlight the categories and mentions some of the bones that fall under these categories.

1. Flat bones

The main role played by flat bones is to protect internal organs against damage. These bones are found in the skull(occipital,parietal,nasal. frontal, and lacrimal), pelvis(ilium and ischium) and thoracic cage (sternum and ribs).

Flat bones have a flat surfaces on which muscles are attached and they act as shield to delicate parts such as pelvic organs, heart and brain.

2.  Short bones

Are cube-shaped and wide to support movements in some critical body part such as  the wrist and ankle joints. These bones include hamate, trapezoid, cuboid, cuneiform and navicular.

3. Long bones

These bones are long enough to support body weight and at the same time facilitate body movement. They include tibia, fibula,, femur, metatarsal and phalanges.

4.Sesamoid bones

They are small round bones found in the tendons of hands, feet and even on the knees. These bone protect tendons from wear and tear. An example of this bone is the patellaor the kneecap.

5. Irregular bones

As the name suggests, these bones don’t have any specific shape. They also protect internal organs against mechanical damages and one example of this bone is the vertebrae.

« »

Leave a Reply